Category Archives: Choosing what to read next

The opposite of “Cover Love”

For a long time now I have been sharing attractive book covers via my Cover Love series of blog posts.  You know… those books that have covers that attract the reader, make them pick the book up, read the blurb, … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Dustjackets, ramblings & miscellanea | Tagged , | 57 Comments

Top nine summer reads PLUS September reading plans

Some of my summer reads were, in my opinion, spectacular reads. Now for the truly difficult decision…  Trying to decide on  TOP THREE THRILLERS “What she knew” by Gilly Macmillan “Seas of snow” by Kerensa Jennings “I found you” by … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Favorite books, Fictionophile report | Tagged , | 3 Comments

Summer reading infographic from “The Expert Editor”

It’s summer, which means vacation time. The sun is out, and the weather is warm. One of the best ways to enjoy a summer day is to sit in the shade with a glass of your favorite beverage and a … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Guest post | Tagged , , | 8 Comments

20 Books of Summer 2017

20 Books of Summer is an annual reading challenge created by Cathy at 746 Books. The challenge takes place between June 1st and September 3rd, during which time the reader pledges to read 20 books from his or her TBR in three … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fictionophile report | Tagged , | 34 Comments

Book blurbs – what words will put me OFF?

As a bookblogger/bookreviewer and a retired public library fiction cataloguer, I have read countless ‘blurbs‘ on novels.  Some I read avidly, while others I drop like ‘hot potatoes’! Why would I dismiss a book so readily you ask?  Well, the blurb … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fiction, ramblings & miscellanea | Tagged , | 39 Comments

Genre fatigue – It’s a ‘thing’

Anyone who knows me and has been following this blog for a while KNOWS I love thrillers.  I do, I really do. But… lately I’ve become weary of them. GASP! GULP!  That is not to say that I no longer … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, ramblings & miscellanea | Tagged , , | 79 Comments

“Unlocking worlds: a reading companion for book lovers” by Sally Allen

The name of my blog sort of gives it away.  I read mostly FICTION.  However, the exception that proves the rule is that I read non-fiction if the subject matter is books. With “Unlocking worlds” I felt that I met … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, books about books, Choosing what to read next, Favorite books, Fiction, NetGalley, Quotations, Reading | Tagged , , , , | 15 Comments

Top 5 titles I’m looking forward to in 2017

I have completed my Goodreads reading challenge of 100 books in 2016.  At present I’m reading #103, “The language of dying” by Sarah Pinborough.I plan to have the same challenge for 100 books in 2017. As I scanned my review … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fiction, Fictionophile report | Tagged , , | 26 Comments

Authors I can’t wait to try

Bookworm that I am, books are like candy to me. The anticipation of reading is almost as good as the reading itself. I read a lot of book blogs. Friends, and my fellow bloggers, have introduced me to some authors … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fiction | Tagged , | 56 Comments

Hello October (Fictionophile updates)

Autumn is fast encroaching.  It is the favorite season of many booklovers, myself included. Autumn lends itself to cuddly blankets, cups of tea, and books.  Alternately reading outside in autumn is wonderful as well.  I enjoy both. September was a great month … Continue reading

Posted in Book bloggers, Choosing what to read next | Tagged , , , , | 7 Comments

My fiction wish list is never-ending…

I had a conversation with a fellow book club member about titles we want to read.  I was talking about a specific title and I guess I was raving…. Gulp! Who me? Rave about a book????   Anyway, she said … Continue reading

Posted in 1st in series, Choosing what to read next, Fiction, Mystery fiction, Psychological thrillers | Tagged , , , , , | 29 Comments

My #20booksofsummer Challenge… so far

20 Books of Summer was initiated by fellow blogger Cathy at 746 Books.  The time parameters of the #20booksofsummer challenge: June 1 – September 5, 2016. Book bloggers all have lengthy (sometimes never-ending) TBR lists.  This challenge serves as an … Continue reading

Posted in Book bloggers, Choosing what to read next, Fiction | Tagged , | 3 Comments

Cover Love: Part 8 – Lighthouses

I find myself attracted to certain kinds of covers.  Covers are, after all, the way the publisher ‘hooks’ the reader into choosing one book over countless others. In this, my eighth installment of ‘Cover Love‘, I’d like to show you nineteen books from my Goodreads … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Cover Love series, Dustjackets, Fiction | Tagged | 14 Comments

Books in a series

As a lover of mystery and crime thrillers, I find myself following myriad ‘series’.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the aspect of following a set of characters over numerous books.  When I was ‘just’ a reader, I would religiously … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fiction, Reading, Series order | Tagged , | 29 Comments

Favorite titles read in 2016 (so far…)

I am a third of the way through my 60th title of 2016 and can say it has been a ‘bumper’ year for great reads! I thought I’d share my SIX favorite titles so far… Just click on the title to read … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Choosing what to read next, Favorite books, Fiction | Tagged , , | 20 Comments