Category Archives: Choosing what to read next

“Unlocking worlds: a reading companion for book lovers” by Sally Allen

The name of my blog sort of gives it away.  I read mostly FICTION.  However, the exception that proves the rule is that I read non-fiction if the subject matter is books. With “Unlocking worlds” I felt that I met … Continue reading

Posted in book reviews, Choosing what to read next, Favorite books, Fiction, NetGalley title, Quotations, Reading | Tagged , , , | 14 Comments

Top 5 titles I’m looking forward to in 2017

I have completed my Goodreads reading challenge of 100 books in 2016.  At present I’m reading #103, “The language of dying” by Sarah Pinborough.I plan to have the same challenge for 100 books in 2017. As I scanned my review … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fiction, Fictionophile report | Tagged , , | 26 Comments

Authors I can’t wait to try

Bookworm that I am, books are like candy to me. The anticipation of reading is almost as good as the reading itself. I read a lot of book blogs. Friends, and my fellow bloggers, have introduced me to some authors … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fiction | Tagged , | 56 Comments

Hello October (Fictionophile updates)

Autumn is fast encroaching.  It is the favorite season of many booklovers, myself included. Autumn lends itself to cuddly blankets, cups of tea, and books.  Alternately reading outside in autumn is wonderful as well.  I enjoy both. September was a great month … Continue reading

Posted in Book bloggers, Choosing what to read next | Tagged , , , , | 7 Comments

My fiction wish list is never-ending…

I had a conversation with a fellow book club member about titles we want to read.  I was talking about a specific title and I guess I was raving…. Gulp! Who me? Rave about a book????   Anyway, she said … Continue reading

Posted in 1st in series, Choosing what to read next, Fiction, Mystery fiction, Psychological thrillers | Tagged , , , , , | 29 Comments

My #20booksofsummer Challenge… so far

20 Books of Summer was initiated by fellow blogger Cathy at 746 Books.  The time parameters of the #20booksofsummer challenge: June 1 – September 5, 2016. Book bloggers all have lengthy (sometimes never-ending) TBR lists.  This challenge serves as an … Continue reading

Posted in Book bloggers, Choosing what to read next, Fiction | Tagged , | 3 Comments

Cover Love: Part 8 – Lighthouses

I find myself attracted to certain kinds of covers.  Covers are, after all, the way the publisher ‘hooks’ the reader into choosing one book over countless others. In this, my eighth installment of ‘Cover Love‘, I’d like to show you nineteen books from my Goodreads … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Cover Love series, Dustjackets, Fiction | Tagged | 14 Comments