Category Archives: Choosing what to read next

June TBR: a plan

Well folks this is the third month of my plan to get a handle on my TBR.  In addition to trying to get the oldest titles off my list, I’ve been valiantly trying to abstain from requesting anything on NetGalley … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next | Tagged | 28 Comments

May TBR: a plan

(you know what they say about plans…)       This is my second month of really planning out my reading. Last month was successful. I actually read all ten titles in my April TBR plan, plus another title that … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fictionophile report | Tagged , | 28 Comments

#TBR ten titles I covet – but don’t have yet

My TBR is LONG already, so why would I want MORE BOOKS?  Book bloggers can NEVER have enough books.  It is a sickness, a compulsion, a craving. I thought I’d share with you the TEN titles that I do NOT have … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next | Tagged , | 41 Comments

America’s reading habits: an infographic

Wondering What Everyone Else Is Reading? The Most Popular Book Across the US Is… Are you the type who’s used to craning your neck so you can make out the cover titles of your fellow subway commuters’ books?  Can’t wait … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Guest post, Reading | Tagged | 13 Comments

An A-Z of those I own

This idea was the brainchild of Margaret (Books Please) and was introduced to me by Sandra (A corner of Cornwall). It sounded like such fun, that I just had to join in. It serves as an enjoyable way of inspiring … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, home libraries | Tagged | 23 Comments

Topics I can’t resist when choosing a book

I borrowed the idea for this post from fellow bookbloggers, Annie The Misstery, and Renee It’s Book Talk Today I want to tell you about certain themes/topics that I simply can’t resist when reading a blurb, and also those which … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, ramblings & miscellanea | Tagged , | 42 Comments

Blogger vs. Reader – Books I REALLY want to read!

The above 10 novels are the books that I want to read right now! They are calling my name and their voices are very LOUD! The problem you ask? Well… NONE of these are on my ‘for review’ TBR – … Continue reading

Posted in Book bloggers, Choosing what to read next, ramblings & miscellanea, Reading | Tagged , , | 43 Comments

The opposite of “Cover Love”

For a long time now I have been sharing attractive book covers via my Cover Love series of blog posts.  You know… those books that have covers that attract the reader, make them pick the book up, read the blurb, … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Dustjackets, ramblings & miscellanea | Tagged , | 57 Comments

Top nine summer reads PLUS September reading plans

Some of my summer reads were, in my opinion, spectacular reads. Now for the truly difficult decision…  Trying to decide on  TOP THREE THRILLERS “What she knew” by Gilly Macmillan “Seas of snow” by Kerensa Jennings “I found you” by … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Favorite books, Fictionophile report | Tagged , | 3 Comments

Summer reading infographic from “The Expert Editor”

It’s summer, which means vacation time. The sun is out, and the weather is warm. One of the best ways to enjoy a summer day is to sit in the shade with a glass of your favorite beverage and a … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Guest post | Tagged , , | 8 Comments

20 Books of Summer 2017

20 Books of Summer is an annual reading challenge created by Cathy at 746 Books. The challenge takes place between June 1st and September 3rd, during which time the reader pledges to read 20 books from his or her TBR in three … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fictionophile report | Tagged , | 34 Comments

Book blurbs – what words will put me OFF?

As a bookblogger/bookreviewer and a retired public library fiction cataloguer, I have read countless ‘blurbs‘ on novels.  Some I read avidly, while others I drop like ‘hot potatoes’! Why would I dismiss a book so readily you ask?  Well, the blurb … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fiction, ramblings & miscellanea | Tagged , | 39 Comments

Genre fatigue – It’s a ‘thing’

Anyone who knows me and has been following this blog for a while KNOWS I love thrillers.  I do, I really do. But… lately I’ve become weary of them. GASP! GULP!  That is not to say that I no longer … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, ramblings & miscellanea | Tagged , , | 79 Comments

“Unlocking worlds: a reading companion for book lovers” by Sally Allen

The name of my blog sort of gives it away.  I read mostly FICTION.  However, the exception that proves the rule is that I read non-fiction if the subject matter is books. With “Unlocking worlds” I felt that I met … Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, books about books, Choosing what to read next, Favorite books, Fiction, NetGalley, Quotations, Reading | Tagged , , , , | 15 Comments

Top 5 titles I’m looking forward to in 2017

I have completed my Goodreads reading challenge of 100 books in 2016.  At present I’m reading #103, “The language of dying” by Sarah Pinborough.I plan to have the same challenge for 100 books in 2017. As I scanned my review … Continue reading

Posted in Choosing what to read next, Fiction, Fictionophile report | Tagged , , | 26 Comments