Book covers unique? I don’t think so…

Many of you have been following my Cover Love series of blog posts for some time. Some of my newer followers might not have seen my “Seeing Double” post in the series. As I am constantly updating this post, I thought I’d give you an example of what can be found on it.

Example:  the same derelict building can be found in all FIVE of these covers!

If you think you’ve seen that cover art before – chances are – you HAVE!

As always, I’d love to hear your thoughts on this or any of my blog posts.

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Cover Love series, Dustjackets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Book covers unique? I don’t think so…

  1. so many ready made book cover companies out there! i’d be willing to bet you could find this one at End2EndBooks.com. I wrote an article for my blog back in April ( https://rosepointpublishing.com/2017/04/21/premade-book-covers-your-design-on-tap/) regarding the ready mades–some as cheap as $5, or starting at $350 and depending which, the ability to customize. I started noticing all those six-pack covers–ugh–please pull the pants up (or do they shave too?)!

    Like

  2. I suppose there are only so many things you can stick on the cover but I think it is deliberate. Certain types of cover tend to be associated with specific genres and they don’t want to put off potential readers with a cover that’s different or unusual.

    Like

  3. This is so interesting! I’m going to start paying more attention to this now!

    Like

  4. skyecaitlin says:

    I adore this.

    Like

  5. Ugh, cover pet peeve, grungy, grey-toned cover featuring an old falling down building and a mysterious figured. Bonus hate points if the title gives no indication of what the book’s about!

    Like

  6. Annie says:

    Hahaha and they’re ugly xD

    Like

  7. I wonder if they have cover designers in common or it’s just that cover designers zone in on the same trends. Would be fascinating to get a cover designer’s/publisher’s take on it….

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow! Even the fonts look similar!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That’s actually seeing quintuple. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  10. LizScanlon says:

    Ah, now I must go and check out the whole series on this topic 🙂 … I have lately started noticing some covers having same elements used on them. And honestly it threw me a bit in the beginning.. I think if I was an author, it would freak me out NOT having a unique cover,, even though there’s only one element of it that’s used on someone else’s book…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. carhicks says:

    I have noticed that often. I am one who chooses books by the cover. I have come across books that I am sure I read before because the cover was almost identical, only to realize it is not the same book.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Take a look at my Urbane post this month and you’ll see the same cover artwork on two of the books – wouldn’t have expected it from same publisher with books published around same time, but what do I know!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. It’s amazing how often the same stock images are used. I had no idea until I started doing this stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Karen says:

    It had registered with me that many book covers are very similar but wow, to have the SAME BUILDING in so many covers – and 2 of these books are by the same publisher. That is just laziness. I’ll be looking out now for identicals! Well spotted.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Since reading your Cover Love posts I keep noticing similar covers all over the place! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Joanne says:

    The cracked wedding ring seems quite common just now too. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Funny you mention that Joanne as it is on one of my Cover Love posts in the near future. I’ve been collecting wedding ring covers for a while now.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. I love this! Never even noticed that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

