Bookblogger plagiarism!

Today I encountered something that left me fuming and outraged.

I found MY REVIEW of “The missing ones” by Patricia Gibney (dated June 13th, 2017) on another blogger’s blog copied WORD-FOR-WORD!  He has no shame!

Lucas Yule gave credit for authorship in this review simply by writing Source: “The missing ones” by Patricia Gibney at the bottom of the post.

His review dated July 10th, 2017 did not even mention my name or the name of my blog.  Does the fact that he wrote “Source” cover him? In my opinion, without mentioning my blog’s name it makes the post seem as though he wrote it himself.

Scanning through his blog, I realize that most, if not all, of his posts are ones that he did not write.  Perhaps he has taken more than one of my posts. Perhaps he has taken one of yours?

Has this ever happened to anyone else?  If so, how did you react?  What can be done?

Am I being unreasonable?  I don’t think so.  I take great pains to write original book reviews of books that I have read. I give them a lot of thought and time.

I would have been delighted if he had wanted to use my post by using an excerpt – mentioning where he got it from and then linking to my blog post.

But to take the whole review without mentioning Fictionophile even once… my blood boils.  I don’t think that I should have to stand for it.  To me it is plagiarism – pure and simple!July 11, 2017 – 9:00 a.m. Canadian Atlantic time:

I am VERY PLEASED to report that the offending blog has been taken down.  Lucas Yule has sent me an apology via email.

I am extremely grateful for all of the amazing support shown by my fellow bookbloggers. What a fantastic community you all are!  

 

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Book bloggers, ramblings & miscellanea and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

88 Responses to Bookblogger plagiarism!

  1. twogalsandabook says:

    It is sad and I agree. He should have mentioned your blog. When one spends a lot of time thinking of what to write, and another comes along and just uses it without crediting you, I think, is the epitome of laziness. The bright side is, they say that imitation is the best form of flattery, so obviously he thought you and whoever else’s stuff he swiped wrote much better than he could! At least his blog has been removed. : )

    Like

  2. ireadnovels says:

    Thanks for sharing this with blogger’s I decided to check him out in case he took one of my reviews. Good news his site has been taken down.

    Like

  3. Wow! That’s unbeliavable that they’d copy it like that :/ I’m glad they took it down. That’s awful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Weekly Update July 10th to 16th – Engrossed in a Good Book

  5. Gosh that is terrible and totally, totally not acceptable!! I’m glad this was taken down and the issue was resolved- but it never should have happened in the first place.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow, that’s crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Stephanie says:

    What a terrible thing to happen to you and so very, very wrong on his part! I teach college English and have a zero tolerance policy on plagiarism, so I was horrified when I read about this! I’m so glad it was resolved and he apologized, but he should have known what he was doing was wrong! I’m so glad he has taken down his blog! I hope you enjoy the rest of your week!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Karen says:

    I saw a post about this guy last night but didn’t realise he had stolen from you. It’s awful when people do this, so pleased it seems to be sorted for you now.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I am very late to the “party” but am super happy to hear that you found resolution with this! I was so mortified when I read what was happening. I have to admit that I am surprised the whole blog was taken down, but sounds like that was for the best as many were involved. Have a great week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. nualacharlie says:

    That was really sucky but I am really glad that it got taken down. I am not sure if there is anything we can do to prevent this. On the other hand take it as a compliment that somebody thought that your work was good enough to steal.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh God! How horrible! I just saw this.
    I’m so sorry! I am glad it all sorted out in the end. I hope you didn’t have a lot of hassle…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Samantha says:

    Late to the party, but it looks like he has taken it down. It’s common courtesy to at least acknowledge the original article. I don’t really see the point of reposting someone else’s review word for word; it’d be different if they’de be responding to it and using quotations (with a link to the original source, of course), but this? Not okay. Sorry you had to deal with this.

    Let’s hope this person has learned from it and will do differently in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Totally not fair and I guess this post and your message has prompted him as his blog now seems to be empty!!
    We work hard on our blogs so it is not acceptable to steal work.
    Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

  14. bibliobeth says:

    Hey, hope you didn’t mind me wading in, leaving a comment and supporting you on “his post.” (Ha, even though it was YOURS). He replied to me and said he linked your site and the bottom and I told him he did not even mention your name just “source” which is out of order. I think he’s taken the post down? Did you hear back from him? 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Mentioning a “source” isn’t enough to take your review. He should’ve at least asked for your permission to quote SOME parts of your review or simply use it as a basis instead of downright stealing your entire review.

    I hope he will stop stealing other people’s blog posts and I hope you’ll hear from him soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. It appears he’s taken down his entire site now, the url still works but there is nothing on it. Makes me think he must have been copying all of his posts. I hope he never took anything from me as I’m a crime-thriller reviewer, but at least if he did, it’s gone now!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Sandra says:

    I agree with everyone; this is not acceptable. There now seems to be no material on his site so either he or WordPress have acted quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Naty says:

    It seems like he deleted the post… But ugh, what a terrible thing to do! It’s so simple to just give someone credit!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I can’t believe this! What a cheek! But I’ve just checked the link, and it seems he has not only removed your post, but every post on his site (which says a lot about the content of his entire blog). Awful for you to have gone through, though x

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Well, as my blog is in Portuguese, it makes this more difficult to happen (there’s fewer of us), but I would be extremely annoyed. I’ve looked at the blog and it seems that is no longer there…

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Avonna says:

    I just clicked on his name in your post and WordPress says that post no longer exists. Good for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. This is outrageous! I don’t mind reblogs as long as my blog is mentioned, but this is pure stealing of material!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Emma says:

    Shocking…looks like he’s taken everything down now.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. If you click on the three dots near the follow button in the bottom right corner of his site (in desktop version of wordpress) you can report him for copyright infringement. I would do it right away if I were you! I checked and didn’t see any of my posts being used, thankfully!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. luvtoread says:

    Oh my word! This is terrible! So incredibly frustrating! I checked out his site – really, really disrespectful. And some of his posts don’t even have an active link back to the original author! One just says “Amazon customer”. Uggh. This is so, so bad. I hope you get some kind of a response from him. Sorry you have to deal with this 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  26. tballa04 says:

    Eeekk! I’m sorry this happened to you. I actually had another blogger contact me about a year or so ago to tell me that someone had taken paragraphs from one of her reviews as well as mine and mashed them into one mishmash plagiarized review that this blogger tried to pass off as their own. It is so disheartening to hear when things like this happen. I think contacting them to explain why that isn’t ok with you is a good step, even if you shouldn’t really have to be put in that position in the first place. Beyond that, if they posted on a site like Goodreads, you can always report it. Best of luck to you! Hopefully they end up feeling poorly and doing the right thing in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks for your supportive comment. I’m pleased to report that the blogger in question DID take down my post and all of the others he had used.

      Like

      • tballa04 says:

        Oh, that’s great! It stinks that it happened in the first place, but at least it was resolved peacefully and quickly. Hopefully this person also learned a lesson and won’t make that mistake again.

        Liked by 1 person

  27. Effie Carayannis says:

    You have every right to be angry Lynne, I ‘m not sure if anything can be done other than approaching him and demand to have the post removed . You put a lot of effort into your reviews; you have my support, Good luck

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Yikes, I am going to have to look into this person.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Well this is just messed up, he stole one of my reviews as well and now is following me, presumably to take more in the future? Can you block people on WordPress?

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Mischenko says:

    Wow! Thanks for giving a heads up. I can’t believe that.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Patricia says:

    That is bad! I’ve had reblogs but always with credit.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Carrie Rubin says:

    I believe this is more copyright infringement than plagiarism. People can quote a few lines of someone else’s work (with proper credit of course), but lifting whole sections like this is frowned upon, perhaps even outright infringement. Maybe he’s not aware of this. You could ask him to remove it, or at least credit you at the beginning of the post. I’m not sure of the exact copyright rules in this case, but I think this definitely pushes it. Maybe even crosses it.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. agshap says:

    I dont think there is anything legal you can do unless you have your blog copyrighted (is there such a thing) but I would definitely let him know how I feel and what’s wrong with him ? doesnt he have an opinion about the book he read? that he has to take yours?

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Definitely doesn’t excuse his actions! Sorry to hear you’re dealing with that!

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Julia says:

    Definitely not ok! Thanks for sharing this, I was not aware this could happen!

    Liked by 1 person

  36. I agree with you. You work hard on an original book review, so if someone liked it, the least they should do is mention your blog name.

    Liked by 1 person

  37. That’s awful. It’s one thing to reblog someone else’s writing because you enjoy or agree with it but this is not acceptable

    Liked by 1 person

  38. There’s a huge difference between reblogging something to send people over to your blog and just plain stealing content. If most of his posts are like this, then it’s just lazy and not fair on the people creating the original posts. I hope you get a response from him and maybe he’ll make it clearer in future where his posts come from.

    Liked by 1 person

  39. Plagerism is the lamest form of flattery.

    Liked by 1 person

  40. David says:

    It’s not right.

    I have encountered something like this before – I found a blogger using my Amazon reviews (unattributed) as “comments” on their blog. Clever, I suppose, giving the impression their blog was a hive of activity.

    I didn’t do anything: can’t be bothered to engage with such pathetic people.

    Liked by 1 person

  41. Allie P. says:

    Wow – that is terrible! I mean really, how hard is it to hit the copy paste button on your blog’s name? Clearly, they know how the function works.

    Liked by 1 person

  42. Anne says:

    I’m sorry this happened to you. This is clearly copyright infringement.

    The good news is that his blog is hosted by wordpress.com so the DMCA process is pretty straight forward. The link to file a take down notice can be found here:

    https://automattic.com/dmca-notice/

    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  43. fayetino says:

    OMG that is just disrespectful. itd not fair that you have to do all the work for him. writing reviews can be a lot of work at times. just horrible

    Liked by 1 person

  44. Copy, paste and publish it another blog??? Shame.

    Liked by 1 person

  45. Wow, a person doesn’t know how to write their own review? That’s pathetic.

    Liked by 1 person

  46. Your anger is completely justified! He has no right to copy and paste your review word-for-word and post it on his own blog, especially with barely mentioning that it’s not his review. If he were going to share your review (which honestly I’m not sure you could legally stop him from doing), he definitely should’ve made it more clear that it was not something he wrote. Most people probably wouldn’t even notice that link at the end.
    I think I remember something like this happening before where there was a blog that was taking reviews from other bloggers and posting them as their own with no credit at all so they could try and get ARCs without having to actually work for them. It’s so messed up.

    Liked by 1 person

  47. Disgusting! He has you listed in his blog roll as if he thinks that makes it any better. Would be tempted to call him out on Twitter…

    Liked by 1 person

  48. damppebbles says:

    I’ve had a look and it appears as though it’s his post, to those not in the know. Can you demand he takes it down? Or at least credit you properly? I’m fuming for you, Lynne xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      I have requested he take down the post Emma. I haven’t heard back from him yet. I am absolutely overwhelmed by all the support I have received over this matter. Thank-you!

      Like

  49. I’d be fuming and you have every right to be. I’d report it to WP, they must have a feature for this, unless he gives you proper credit. We all work really hard on our blogs and that’s not fair to do that.

    Liked by 1 person

  50. That’s just bloody disgraceful Lynne. How frustrating for you. Hope you get some answers…outrageous behaviour..

    Liked by 1 person

  51. Cathy says:

    Definitely not the done thing 😠

    Liked by 1 person

  52. He’s completely in the wrong Lynne! Without giving you credit by siting your blog and/or name that’s complete plagiarism. What’s wrong with people?? I’m wondering how often this is happening that goes unnoticed? Sorry Lynne, how frustrating!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      I so appreciate your comment Renee. You and many other bloggers have been very supportive of my plight. I have contacted him and if I don’t hear back by tomorrow night I will proceed with a take down request via WordPress.

      Liked by 1 person

  53. lollyrugs says:

    So sorry to hear you experienced this and I’m sure I would be really unhappy and angry if someone done this with one of my reviews x

    Liked by 1 person

  54. I probably shouldn’t be giving him the views but looking at it I would say it reads like his review rather than a repost of yours. Not sure there’s really much you can do about it other than adding a comment to try and push readers back to your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks. It is good to know that it appears that way to others. I was beginning to feel that my view of it was biased. I appreciate your supportive comment.

      Like

  55. No, you definitely did not overreact! And I’m sorry this has happened to you.
    First of all, why would someone post someone else’s review? There’s a reblog button, just use it. And just because he mentioned the source, doesn’t mean people won’t assume it’s his. Finally, he didn’t even ask permission to have your review on his blog. So the whole thing is just wrong.
    I hope you can do something about this, even though it’s unlikely… But at least you can bring attention to his blog and let people know what’s going on!

    Liked by 1 person

  56. I know quite a few blogs reblog posts but generally they write an introduction to the post and you have to click on the post to read it all anyway but I’ve not seen this before where the post is copied word for word. A review or blog post is a person’s own, they put time and effort into it and no, there’s nothing there to say that the review is yours, it looks like and is implied that he wrote it and writing ‘source’ isn’t good enough, source what?? If you’re going to write source you then need to write who the actual source is! I’d be fuming!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks Drew. I wouldn’t have minded a ‘reblog’ at all. In fact, I find that reblogs are quite flattering. THIS however, was a step too far. I appreciate your support.

      Liked by 1 person

  57. sahmoun2778 says:

    I’m so sorry this happened! I wouldn’t even know where to start in dealing with this but it’s not right. To me it’s another example of how standards have fallen in so many areas of our culture. I hope you get a good resolution.

    Liked by 1 person

  58. novelgossip says:

    This is so wrong! I’m so sorry it’s happening to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  59. Patty says:

    Is this something that could be reported to WordPress? Not really sure how that works. I know that I put a copyright on my page, but not sure how you would handle this?

    Liked by 1 person

  60. Jen Lucas says:

    Wow. Some people take the biscuit. I think there are a few out there who almost exclusively just reblog others posts but they at least give the credit. So not good. Sorry it’s happened to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  61. Oh my goodness this is awful I’m not surprised you are fuming! I really hope he acknowledges your review and changes his ways! 😲

    Liked by 1 person

  62. bibliobeth says:

    Oh my God!! How terrible for you! And WHAT AN IDIOT! Luckily it’s never happened to me (that I know of 😕) but I can completely understand why you’re so cross and upset! What are you going to do about it? I hope you’ll contact him?

    Liked by 2 people

  63. skyecaitlin says:

    Lynne, are you going to say anything to the blogger ( via e-mail)? I think this occurs in reviews, too.

    Like

  64. That absolutely does not cover him; that was stealing plain and simple! So sorry you are having to experience this too!

    Liked by 2 people

  65. That is a really grey area but the common courtesy would be to acknowledge your original article with more than “Source”. Not cool.

    Like

Leave a Reply

