Canada’s 150th birthday!

As a proud Canadian book blogger I would be remiss to not take note of my country’s 150th birthday celebration.

And because I always have to mention books… here is a list of 100 novels that make you proud to be Canadian (from CBCbooks.ca)

The Globe and Mail’s list of Best Canadian fiction

The best Canadian fiction of all time as chosen by Canadian novelists (from Chatelaine magazine)

Canada has a bountiful wealth of talented writers – far too many to mention here – so, finally, my personal list of my favorite Canadian novelists (in alphabetical order by surname)

Linwood Barclay

Giles Blunt

Brenda Chapman

Deryn Collier

Annie Daylon

Anne Emery

Joy Fielding

Maureen Jennings

Ann-Marie MacDonald

Alistair MacLeod

Ami McKay

Stuart McLean

Alice Munro

Louise Penny

Iain Reid

Peter Robinson

Amy Stuart

Jane Urquhart

Russell Wangersky

Inger Ash Wolfe

L.R. Wright

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Authors, Canadian fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Canada’s 150th birthday!

  1. Dorothy Gracie says:

    Fabulous post Lynne! I am also a very proud Canadian who feels that us Canadians have a lot to offer the world–especially when it comes to literature and the arts. I love your facts charts which includes many things that I did not know. I was actually in Nanaimo for the first time last Saturday and did not realize that they have bathtub races. Cool!

    Having been on both coasts within the past two weeks and a few airports in between, I was particularly cognizant on this trip of how beautiful and diverse a country we live in and should all be so proud to call home.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Birthday to Canada. Loved all the Canada facts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. skyecaitlin says:

    Happy Birthday Canada!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy birthday Canada!😊😊
    That’s a lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy 150 Canada! Did you take advantage of the free National Park admissions? I got my pass but haven’t used it yet. I plan to! And Stuart McLean is an icon! Love him so much!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      I haven’t got my National Park admissions pass yet – but I do plan to. I agree about Stuart McLean, may her rest in peace (hopefully regaling others with amusing anecdotes). Also, Alistair MacLeod is to Nova Scotia what Stuart McLean is to Canada. I loved him.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. This post was awesome! I’m so proud and lucky to be Canada! Hope you have a great day celebrating!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. carhicks says:

    I too am a proud Canadian. Happy Birthday Canada!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Congratulations and very interesting facts, too! I don’t know why but I always thought Canada was older.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wow! Happy birthday Canada! And what a lovely post – I really enjoyed reading those snippets of information xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

