Hello July (Fictionophile updates and June #bookhaul)

July in Nova Scotia is a lovely month in which I spend most of my time at our cottage in beautiful Cape John, Nova Scotia.  Located on the Northumberland Shore, it is just yards from the ocean, I spend my days puttering in the garden, entertaining friends and family, and of course… reading.  It is in the summer when I truly appreciate being retired.


I am working on my #20booksofsummer challenge.  Interestingly, I have already read two titles that I did not list on my challenge, so I guess you could say my “20 books of summer” list is in flux. LOL

I am now reading #7 of 20


I received the following four titles from NetGalley in June

I was invited to read “Girl last seen” by Hachette/Grand Central Publishing who sent me a NetGalley widget.I was invited to read “Blame” by Hachette/Grand Central Publishing who sent me a NetGalley widget.

Attracted by the cover, I requested this title from House of Anansi Press.

I requested this novel because SHARON BOLTON !!!!!  I have loved all of her novels and only have to see her name to know I badly want to read it.  I don’t even have to read the blurb.


I received the following three titles via Edelweiss

I requested “The Child” because I really enjoyed Fiona Barton’s first novel “The Widow”.
My review of “The Widow”

I downloaded this title from Edelweiss after I received an invitation to read/review it from G.P. Putnam’s Sons

I requested this title after reading the reviews of some of my fellow bookbloggers:

Liz loves Books review

Janet From First Page to Last

Bookaholic’s Confessions

The Welsh Librarian


I received “Exquisite” by Sarah Stovell directly from Orenda Publishing.

I requested it after reading some very glowing reviews by my fellow bookbloggers.

These are just some of the reviews which persuaded me to request it:

My Chestnut Reading Tree

The Book Whisperer

Swirl & Thread

Liz Loves Books

Novel Deelights

The Quiet Knitter

The Suspense is Thrilling Me

Novel Gossip


I received the following title directly from Inspired Quill Publishing after accepting their invitation to read and review it:That’s nine more review commitments!


I purchased the following book in Kindle format from Amazon.ca

$ 1.99

I purchased “Finding Alison” after reading some glowing reviews from my fellow bookbloggers:

Dee-Cee’s review
Kate’s review
Joanne’s review
Dee’s review
Mairead’s review

A friend of mine just participated in her first ever Book Launch!  See the promo here:

Plastic” blurb:

Deborah Pearce has it all. The former Miss America lives an enviable life in La Jolla, California, with a modelling career, a doting husband, two kids and all the fashionable clothing money can buy.
Somehow, it isn’t enough. Image-obsessed Debbie is plagued by dissatisfaction, anxiety and an unquenchable desire for admiration. Her once-promising career is stagnant, the value of her brand diminishing with every passing day. Her two children, neither beautiful nor charming, become petulant and resentful in the face of her ill-concealed disappointment, acting out in ways that have far-reaching consequences for the entire family. But Debbie refuses to let that stop her from striving toward the life she craves … until one day her seemingly perfect world pulls her under, threatening to drown her in disappointed hopes.
Told from the perspectives of eleven interconnected characters, Plastic is a story of loneliness and longing, of alienation and acceptance, and of the never-ending pursuit of the American Dream.

In case you missed it, your can read my interview with Margaret Gracie HERE

So another great book haul in June. I am valiantly trying to get my TBR under control and I’m working toward my 80% NetGalley badge.  There have been many tempting titles listed on NetGalley recently, but until I get that danged 80% I refuse to request them.

Fictionophile just passed the 1700 followers milestone.  Thanks all!

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
Image | This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Hello July (Fictionophile updates and June #bookhaul)

  1. Thank you L so much. Delighted with the shout out & thrilled to think that one of my reviews encouraged one of your book choices. Xx (ps sorry for delay. Was on hols!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Holly B / Dressedtoread says:

    Exquisite is one I am looking forward to reading (already have it) and that How to Find Love in a Bookshop looks good too so I added that one!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Annie says:

    Blame is my next read! And what a lovely place to be ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Yes, it is a lovely place. I realize I’m very lucky to be retired and have time finally to enjoy it. I’ll be watching for your review of “Blame” as I’m anxious to know what you think.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m also really excited to read Dead Woman Walking. It will by my first Sharon Bolton book!
    Congratulations on the followers!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh your cottage sounds wonderful, I’m very jealous. I hope you enjoy Finding Alison, it’s such a wonderful book and I’m very honoured to be included as one of the reviews that persuaded you to buy it. Good luck with your 80% badge on NetGalley, I got mine but that’s now a distant memory ha ha xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carrie Rubin says:

    I’m reading The Widow right now. Glad to see she has another one out. It’s quite the page-turner.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Your cottage sounds so perfect for summer reading! I think you’ll love Dead Woman Walking, enjoy all your new reads:)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Diana says:

    Congrats on the followers. So many wonderful books here. Marsh King’s Daughter and Exquisite have such great reviews. I hope that you will enjoy them. Happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wonderful selection of books!! Enjoy and Happy Reading!!! Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Such a wonderful feeling to be included on a list of reviews that persuaded you to buy a book. I hope you enjoy them!

    Have a wonderful July at your cottage! Sounds like absolute bliss!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. So honoured some of my reviews helped in your decision to get books, one of the loveliest things that can be told to a book blogger 😍 Thank you xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

