Cover Love: part 28 – Sideways

The covers of novels entice the reader to enter a different world. Covers are, after all, the way the publisher hooks the reader into choosing one book over countless others.

In this, my twenty-eighth installment of ‘Cover Love‘, I’d like to show you books that feature sideways graphics on their covers.

I have noticed several covers lately that are following this trend.  As if it wasn’t bad enough that librarians and book browsers everywhere have to tilt their heads sideways to read the titles on book spines. Honestly, it is a wonder that we all don’ t permanently look like this:

Personally, I am NOT a fan of these sideways covers, but… to each his own.

Some of the following books I’ve already read, some are on my ‘to read’ list,
and some I chose only for their covers.

Some, perhaps, will now be on your TBR!

Just click on the cover to read the book’s synopsis from  Goodreads.

You might just find your next favorite book!

 

Stay tuned for Cover Love Part 29: “Butterflies“

or… revisit any of the previous installments of

Cover Love – some of which I’ve updated recently

 

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Cover Love series, Dustjackets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Cover Love: part 28 – Sideways

  1. bibliobeth says:

    Ugh no I’m not a fan at all! They make me feel a little sick actually! 🤢 Great post as always 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good grief! I had no idea that was a trend. Count me among the negatives.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. To be honest, I’m not a fan either. I HATE having to keep tilting my head to read titles, especially when they’re not all facing the same way… Ugh. So yeah, no to sideways graphics XD

    Liked by 1 person

  4. FictionFan says:

    Oh, no, I don’t think these work well at all – they actually make me feel a bit off balance! I think I must be a traditionalist…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Annie Romero says:

    It apparently gets the attention. To me that is a pretty savvy marketing tool. I don’t think it’s so hard to tilt my neck once in a while. Some of those covers are breathtaking I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks Annie. Although many (including myself) don’t particularly care for sideways covers, I was waiting for a genuinely positive comment. I love hearing from BOTH sides of the argument. I appreciate your candor.

      Like

  6. Allie P. says:

    I like how the sideways cover was executed in Sugar and Nightshades, and even We Not Ourselves as it suggests the story is about imbalance, but it probably isn’t a tactic I would use as the majority just look like someone found a photo they really liked, but just couldn’t figure out a way to use it in portrait style as opposed to landscape.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Book Snail Reads says:

    Ha! Sideways covers… I’m not a fan.. and they say you should never judge a book by its cover but really… that would definitely put me off wanting to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh dear. To me that just feels like something’s gone a bit wrong rather than it being a deliberate marketing decision. Feeling slightly queasy trying to focus on what the image is supposed to be – very off-putting! I’m surprised by how many there are too…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. skyecaitlin says:

    What a wonderful list of books and covers; I’m still playing catch-up from several past cover love blogs, but this group seems to have a special quality, despite the sideways cover ( grrrr).

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Fictionophile says:

    It is interesting that the first five people to comment on this post do NOT really like sideways covers. I wonder if the publishers did a survey before making this decision. Perhaps they thought it was ‘arty’? The only one I would really consider ‘arty’ is “Nightshades”.

    Like

  11. carhicks says:

    I agree, I am not a fan either. Interesting there are so many.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I can’t say I’m a fan of sideways covers either…and I can’t believe how many there are! Sideways almost makes some of them seem confusing and not really how you want a reader to feel picking up a book in my opinion:)

    Liked by 2 people

  13. The cover titled, Nightshades is kind of cool but I would probably never think to do it for any of my books. Like you said, to each his own.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. This is an annoying trend. I’m not a fan, I have to say, one would get a crick in the neck and a headache potentially. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I haven’t seen this trend and got to admit that I don’t think I really like it. It just kinda makes me head hurt. Thanks for the post matey!
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

