Blogrolls are SO useful (#bookbloggers)

I follow quite a few blogs.  I mean I FOLLOW them, not just on my WordPress reader, but I read their posts, ‘Like’, ‘Tweet’ and ‘Comment’.  I am very fortunate to also have several bloggers who follow my blog diligently.

When I visit other book blogger’s blogs I often take a gander at their blogroll.  I have found many wonderful blogs this way.  Hopefully, I am included in other people’s blogrolls so that when visitors visit their blogs they might find a link to me.  Or, is it just wishful thinking on my part? I admit that I do get a wee thrill each time I see Fictionophile listed in someone else’s blogroll.

Since earlier this year, when I did some blog housekeeping, I have been trying valiantly to be a supportive book blogger to all those who I have included in my BLOGROLL.

If you want to find some other GREAT book bloggers, look no further than those listed beneath this graphic on my sidebar.  Happy visiting!

All in all, I find I am a member of a very supportive book blogging community.  It was never so evident as one evening several weeks ago when we almost ‘broke’ Twitter.  What fun!

Bloggers know what hard work blogging can be – so we try to support each other in our efforts. With no financial remuneration, support is all the payment we require.

In addition to my BookBloggers blog roll, I have two other blog rolls in my blog’s sidebar. One is for authors that I follow and another for blogs that I follow that are not book blogs.

I’m curious… Do YOU look at the blogrolls of the blogs you visit?  Have you ever clicked on a link in a blogroll and found a GREAT blog?  If you have, please share your findings in the comments. If you have never found blogrolls to be useful, please explain why not.

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Book bloggers, ramblings & miscellanea and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Blogrolls are SO useful (#bookbloggers)

  1. ireadnovels says:

    Phew!! hard work being a blogger I agree. I used to add every follower on my book site but my busy schedule reading books, blogging, doing blog tours, reading other blogs, visiting Twitter blogs and checking my Goodreads followers what they are reading, I must admit I haven’t added any more followers. I will at some point add more of my followers on my site. I do always return a complement if a blogger has visited my book site and liked one of my review I will see what books I like that the blogger reading, sometimes i will like a book that I wouldn’t read but like the review or the sound of the book. Happy reading and blogging to all.

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks for your comment. We book bloggers can support each other in myriad ways. As long as you are supportive in some way, that is all that matters. Sounds like you are doing more than your fair share. Happy reading (and blogging).

      Like

  2. I should get started looking into this!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Blogrolls: Every Book Blogger Needs One – The Ultimate Book Geek

  4. Excellent, and a good point. I have a blog roll, but have never attempted to separate out bloggers from BOOK bloggers, and I certainly have a few of those. As much as I enjoy your blog, I’ll be adding yours (as well as several others) to my roll today and would certainly love to be added to yours. rosepointpublishing.com Thanks so much for your consideration!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I personally don’t have a blogroll but I love visiting everyone else’s! I did find many great blogs that way 🙂
    I’ve been debating whether I should get one but I don’t know. It kind of feels like playing favorites and I don’t want anyone to be sad/mad that they’re not on my blogroll. So we’ll see!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I honestly didn’t know about the blogroll until reading your post! So thanks for letting me know it existed XD

    I find the hardest part for me is staying consistent in my blogging. I often second guess myself and my ability to write it all out! I’m really trying though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Remember your blog is YOU. Don’t stress or fret and second guess yourself. Put out there what YOU want and your followers will continue to follow (or not). Just stay true to yourself. If you DO want to create a blogroll, the explanation of how to do it is in other comments on this post. I was nice to hear from you Kristin.

      Like

  7. FictionFan says:

    I must admit I’m very lazy about my blogroll – I hardly ever update it, so new blog friends might not be there and some blogs are still there whose owners haven’t posted in an age. I suspect it may be because I never really look at other people’s – except, I admit it, an occasional peek to see if I’m there! And that’s because I feel I’m already about at the limit of the number of blogs I can follow properly, actually having time to visit, read and occasionally comment. But I did find them very useful when I was a new blogger.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      I agree that properly following several blogs at once is very time intensive. For new bloggers and other blog followers who are interesting in the same type of blog as your own – they are invaluable. Thanks so much for your candid comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m such a rubbish blogger as I have no idea what a blogroll is! 😂 Being on self-hosted WordPress I don’t have the follow option (tried and failed to install and get Jetpack working) so I follow on Bloglovin and have started lists on Twitter. I try to share and comment as much as I can to be supportive. The blogging community are just wonderful xxx

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      Abbie don’t disparage yourself! I just have the free version of WordPress, but I’m sure that you can easily create a blogroll. Just go to your WP Admin area and click on “Links”. Also for social media connection click on “Settings” and then “Sharing” to set that up.
      For following use your WordPress Reader. I like that you can change your settings. You can view the blogs you are following instantly (as soon as they publish a post), daily (all the posts they publish each day), weekly (all the posts they publish per week), or, NOT AT ALL. Even if you have the settings to not get emails when they post, they will remain in your following and you can visit them at your leisure.
      I often change my settings when I’m going away for any amount of time so that my email inbox is not inundated with messages. Very useful.

      Like

  9. I have been relying on WP and Bloglovin’ a lot lately. I also keep a bookmark folder of blogs, as I also actively follow a ton. I do love discovering blogrolls when I visit trusted bloggers. They are part of the reason that my list of “blogs I follow” can give my tbr a run for its money 😉 I need to see about adding one myself. I am ashamed to admit I have not.

    Like

  10. I sometimes look through people’s blogrolls—I agree that it’s a great way to find more blogs to love!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I just found your blog, and one of the first things I noticed was your blogroll of other reading blogs! It was so useful and I still haven’t checked out all of them! A great idea and very much appreciated!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      I appreciate your comment Rebecca, and I have now added you to my blogroll.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh that is really kind of you – I look forward to looking through your list some more and adding to my TBR pile. I’m taking a summer sabbatical from posting new content but in the background I’m working on some content ideas and other pieces. I love the idea of finding a space for recognizing other reader blogs and social media outlets 😊 My wheels are spinning…. Thanks for the inspiration!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. I do check out blogrolls, I especially like when the last post is included, I have found blogs that way, especially when someone has reviewed a book I recently read or want to read. You are on my blogroll. I especially love mine after a blog break, I use it to connect with my favorites immediately.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      You are now on my blogroll as well! Thanks for your comment.
      One thing I’ve learned about blogrolls is that sometimes the links can lie dormant when the blogger decides to stop blogging.
      Like anything else, you have to not only ADD new links, but you also have to periodically test the old links and REMOVE those that are no longer viable.

      Like

  13. This is awesome! I’d never heard of this before and will definitely be adding one to my blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’ve just noticed I’m in yours! Thank you so much! I definitely need to include one on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Cathy says:

    Thanks for including me 🙂 I follow so many blogs and forget a lot of the time to add them to the blogroll. I shall remedy that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks Cathy. You’ve been very supportive to me (especially on Twitter) and I’m very grateful. It is hard to keep up with all the blogs I follow – it takes almost, if not as much time, as publishing to my own blog.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Cathy says:

        Social media does take up a lot of time, but I’m sure we all know bloggers do as much as they can and I’m very grateful. Thanks so much for your support 🙂

        Like

  16. Karen says:

    Am so thrilled to see my blog (My Reading Corner) in your blog roll, thank you. I used to have a blogroll on my old Blogger site but since moving to WP I haven’t put this back. I think I ought to reinstate it as a shout out to all fabulous bloggers although I do follow many blogs on my WP reader so that I don’t miss posts (and only recently discovering that you can add non-Wordpress blogs to the WP reader has been so useful!)

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      Yes Karen, I use the WP reader a lot. I like that you can change your settings. You can view the blogs you are following instantly (as soon as they publish a post), daily (all the posts they publish each day), weekly (all the posts they publish per week), or, NOT AT ALL. Even if you have the settings to not get emails when they post, they will remain in your following and you can visit them at your leisure.
      I often change my settings when I’m going away for any amount of time so that my email inbox is not inundated with messages. Very useful.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Annie says:

    Ohhh! To be honest I hadn’t realized! 😀 This is such a good idea, I might do it soon, as you say, it’s helpful!!

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks Annie. You can use your ‘Links’ for a blogroll of bookbloggers, or for anything you might desire. For instance, I’m thinking of creating one for blogs that share my love of words. I’ll call it ‘Logophilia Lives’. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Hi to everyone! Thank you so much for this. I am getting help with revising and updating my blog, and I would love to put in a blog roll. I can use any suggestions. From my WordPress blog my Twitter has grown, but I have been told that it is hard to follow the WordPress one from people that tried. UGH! Thank you for any input. I would love to read and meet what other bloggers say!!Linda BTW, Have a great day! Happy Reading!

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks for commenting Linda. I have just added your blog to my blogroll. As with everything, WordPress has a learning curve. Have fun tweaking your blog.

      Like

  19. Blogsrolls ARE useful. It was how I discovered book blogs when I first started out.

    Like

  20. I agree, blog rolls are very useful. I have found a few interesting blogs that way. Thank you so much for including me in your roll. I am fairly new to blogging, but did work our recently how to insert a few widgets including a blog roll, which includes yours (I’m very proud of myself, lol). I think it’s a great way to support other bloggers, and to find new ones. Mine are mostly book blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Thank you very much for including me on your blogroll. I do get a little thrill when I see my name on other blogs. I don’t know how to do this at the moment, but I’m due some big time blog house keeping so I shall endeavour to find out and add this to my side bar too. It s a great way to find other blogs and a lovely way to support other bloggers.
    Amanda.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. deborahkehoe says:

    Occasionally I’ve checked out a blogroll, but sometimes I only read a post on WordPress and don’t actually go to the bloggers website. However, you make a great point! So, I am now going to your website to check out your blogroll. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Lorilin says:

    If I have the time, I definitely look at blogrolls on other sites. I’ve found some good blogs that way, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Thanks for this post! I found some great new blogs to follow because of your blog roll and you inspired me to do something similar on my blog! Definitely going to work on that this week! I love how supportive this community is!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Yes Kristin. I think the book blogging community is great. I’m guessing that the reason for this is the lack of competition. Nobody is making money from this, and the only recompense we get is the access to free ARCs and each other’s support. Have fun creating your blogroll.

      Liked by 3 people

  25. I’ll be honest, I don’t even know what a blog roll is?! 😱

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Carissa, a blog roll is simply the links you enter on your blog. You can have as many blog rolls as you like. Some bloggers just have one and call it “The blogs I follow” or something like that. Others, like me, have two or three blog rolls. I have one for the bookbloggers I follow, another for the authors I follow, another for the non-book blogs I follow. You can be as simple or as extensive as you like. WordPress makes it very easy to create a blogroll. Just click on ‘Links’ in your WPAdmin and then enter the web link address, the title of the link (blog’s name). Have fun!

      Liked by 1 person

  26. Spunkyreads says:

    I am a new blogger and it looks like I had no idea until this post about blog roll. Will I be shunned to the dungeons?🙍🏻🙇🏻‍♀️🙊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Ha-Ha. Imagine a book blogger dungeon. It probably has an extensive library and a wine bar. Seriously though, blog rolls (listing the blogs you follow) are an excellent way of sharing the great blogs you have found.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Spunkyreads says:

        Lock me forever in there 😂 I will include the bloggers I follow on my website ☺️ this is cool, I am learning new things 🙂👍🏻👌🏻🥂

        Liked by 1 person

  27. Ali Grimshaw says:

    Do you know of any bloggers who recommend books for 4 – 6 graders, especially boys? There are always new books coming out and I can’t keep up with recommendations. Thanks for any ideas you have to offer. I am committed to getting future generations to fall in love with reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. carhicks says:

    Yes, you are in my blog roll.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

