Hello June! (Fictionophile updates and May book haul)

It is finally June and any day now the lupins will be blooming in Nova Scotia!  The season when I’m really looking forward to digging in the garden and reading outdoors.


I was delighted to be included in a list of TEN bloggers chosen by Cathy as some of her favorites.  You can read her blog post here.


In May I welcomed novelist David J. Swykert to Fictionophile.  He authored a guest post on the use of familial DNA and his novel “The death of anyone“.


I signed up for the Twenty Books of Summer challenge again this year.  The challenge was created by Cathy at 746 Books, and runs from June 1st to Sept. 3rd. You can see my list of 20 books here.


After a shameful NetGalley book haul last month (eight titles!), I’ve been really trying to be strong and not request anything from NetGalley.  Was I successful ???  NO!

I got five more titles from NetGalley.  An improvement of sorts…

The good news is that I finally earned my 200 reviews badge from NetGalley on May 10th!

NetGalley profile captured May 29, 2017

the bad news is that if I keep at my current rate of reading roughly 100 novels per year, it will be THREE more YEARS before I am eligible to earn the next reward badge for 500 reviews…

AND, I’m still chasing the elusive 80%

Another bit of good news is that I am now pre-approved for another publisher.  I can now read any Red Adept title offered on NetGalley.


I requested and received one new title from Edelweiss

but GRRRR….. after being approved I found that it wasn’t available in Kindle format so I had to download an .acsm file.  Which means I have a 35 day time limit AND it is over 600 pages.  I’ll have to shuffle my TBR queue around.

I really wish that it was clearly stated ‘up front’ when titles are not available in Kindle format!

The extra hassle was worth it though.  “A dark so deadly” was EXCELLENT! You can read my review here.


I followed Carolyn Mahony on Twitter and she offered me her book.  (I don’t often jump at these freebies, but this one sounded good.)

However… to download the book she uses Booksomniac.  And now I’m on the Booksomniac list.  OMG!  What have I done? LOL


I purchased the following titles in Kindle format from Amazon.ca

$ 6.99

I purchased this title upon the recommendation of Joanne at Portobello Book Blog.


$ 6.99

I purchased this title after reading a review on The Quiet Knitter.


$ 1.99


$ .99

I pre-ordered this after reading a blog post by Jen Med’s Book Reviews


I really want to read “The other Mrs. Walker” by Mary Paulson-Ellis after reading a blog post by Cleo at Cleopatra Loves Books

But sadly, it is NOT available in Canada on Kindle.

(and if I can’t read it on Kindle – I probably won’t…)

So another great book haul in May.

Fictionophile reached and surpassed the 1600 followers milestone.  Thanks all!

Also, thanks for your comments on my TBR reading order.  I did a bit of queue shuffling.


About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Fictionophile report and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Hello June! (Fictionophile updates and May book haul)

  1. Ana says:

    That donkey pic is hilarious and exactly how I feel about chasing the elusive 80% feedback rate on Netgalley. Good luck!

    Like

  2. Emma says:

    Sounds like a great month. With that many books I’m wondering if it’s possible to fill up a kindle?

    Like

  3. Congratulations on the 1600+ followers and the 200 review mark! Not to mention, being on Cathy’s Top 10 favorite bloggers ❤
    You've read so many books already! I'm very, very jelly XD I hope you get to finish the ones you've requested/purchased soon too. Believe me, I know the struggle!
    Girl, you're an inspiration to us all!!! Keep up the wonderful work ^_^ ❤

    Like

  4. Congratulations on May achievements! I am only about to reach my 25 reviews badge 😀

    Like

  5. I hope you enjoy “The Sewing Machine” 😍

    Like

  6. Thanks for the link and congratulations on the 200 reviews badge – awesome!

    Like

  7. Zoe says:

    Great update, Lynne. Congratulations on 200 Reviews! I love all the fun clip art you create!

    Like

  8. Thank you so much for my mention – I’m looking forward to reading The Sewing Machine too. I didn’t realise the next badge for NG after 200 was 500 – I was hoping for one at 300 😦

    Like

  9. I totally agree with you about wishing Netgalley showed upfront which books won’t have Kindle formatting. I have 4 books I’ve been approved for right now that don’t do kindle and it is frustrating. I’m also not the quickest when it comes to reading Netgalley books, so it is a problem :/
    On the other hand, since it forces reviewers to read them, I guess I understand why the time limit? I just really dislike it, not to mention having to use Adobe UGH

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      Yes, like you I do understand why they do it. I just don’t have to like it. LOL Guess they are ‘crazy like a fox’. A little more transparency would be appreciated when it comes to HOW you are going to read something. Thanks so much for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

