20 Books of Summer 2017

20 Books of Summer is an annual reading challenge created by Cathy at 746 Books.

The challenge takes place between June 1st and September 3rd, during which time the reader pledges to read 20 books from his or her TBR in three months.

I took part last year and fulfilled my pledge.

So, for the summer of 2017 I plan to read the following 20 titles:

  1. Pieces like pottery by Dan Buri (318 p.)
  2. Beyond the wild river by Sarah Maine (336 p.)
  3. Entry Island by Peter May (544 p.)
  4. The widow’s house by Carol Goodman (368 p.)
  5. The long drop by Denise Mina (320 p.)
  6. The girl who was taken by Charlie Donlea (340 p.)
  7. Lost for words by Stephanie Butland (368 p.)
  8. Magpie murders by Anthony Horowitz (464 p.)
  9. The missing ones by Patricia Gibney (424 p.)
  10. Seas of snow by Kerensa Jennings (352 p.)
  11. The story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg (240 p.)
  12. Two days gone by Randall Silvis (400 p.)
  13. Local girl missing by Claire Douglas (368 p.)
  14. The birdwatcher by William Shaw (336 p.)
  15. I found you by Lisa Jewell (352 p.)
  16. A place called Winter by Patrick Gale (354 p.)
  17. Call of the undertow by Linda Cracknell (256 p.)
  18. Malagash by Joey Comeau (182 p.)
  19. Evensong by Kate Southwood (240 p.)
  20. What she knew by Gilly Macmillan (496 p.)

Twenty titles and 7,058 pages.

This will make a small dent in my TBR

Wish me luck!

On September 4th I will post my challenge results.

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Choosing what to read next, Fictionophile report and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to 20 Books of Summer 2017

  1. Pingback: Hello September! (Fictionophile updates & August’s book haul) | Fictionophile

  2. Pingback: Hello August! (Fictionophile updates and July’s #bookhaul) | Fictionophile

  3. Pingback: 20 Books of Summer 2017 – carlalovestoread

  4. I definately need to start reading 💙 love the book options

    Like

  5. Jessica's Reading Room says:

    Good luck! I would never be able to accomplish this!

    Like

  6. Great to find a fellow Canadian participating! Happy #20booksofsummer reading 😉

    Like

  7. FictionFan says:

    You’ve got some great ones there! Entry Island is one of Peter May’s best, I think, and Magpie Murders is fantastic! The Long Drop will be on my own summer list too. Have a great summer of reading! 😀

    Like

  8. Thanks for taking part! You have about 1000 pages more than me to read – although I did pick a few sneaky short ones!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sarah Swan says:

    Good luck with your challenge. Some fab books here x

    Like

  10. Yvo says:

    Great TBR! I’ve read and enjoyed both The Missing Ones and I Found You, so I can recommend those. Good luck with the challenge!

    Like

  11. Annie says:

    Ohh I hope you enjoy The girl who was taken 😀 Great summer reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Cathy says:

    Best of luck with the challenge!

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks for your comment and your best wishes Cathy. I think I’m going to need all the encouragement I can get as summer is such a busy time.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Annika Perry says:

    Best of luck with the challenge, I’ve read two and the rest look intriguing. I’m intent of catching up on my NetGalley reading & reviewing this summer – its tbr is far too long!

    Like

  14. Good luck! I’m trying to stick to only two challenges this year in hopes that I can at least finish those, otherwise I might be tempted to try this one.

    Like

  15. carhicks says:

    Good luck with the challenge. I think I will join as well. I want to read summer books that are on my TBR. Some for a few years. Going to set up shortly. Sounds like a good way to commit to getting them read.

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      Hope you are successful Carla. It was hard choosing which 20 as I have SO many to read. Twenty barely made a dent…

      Like

  16. Intentergy says:

    Best of luck in your reading endeavors! Those darn books piles seem to reproduce faster than we can ever read them. I guess that is the beauty of a book pile too. 🙂 Happy reading!

    Like

  17. Carlissa says:

    Good luck with this challenge! I tried it last year. I only read 18 out of the 20, but I was still happy with that result.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks Carlissa. The summer is such a busy time with guests, trips, and family time. It is sometimes difficult to get any reading done, so your 18/20 is excellent.

      Like

  18. You got this! Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

