Book bloggers, blog rolls, etc.

On sunny days I like to do my housekeeping.  The real kind – shaking mats, washing windows, hanging out clothes, etc.  On foggy, overcast days like today I thought I’d do a little BLOG housekeeping.

Since I recently added this graphic to Fictionophilebsb

I thought I should go through my ‘blogroll‘ and see if any links needed updating.  What an eye-opener that was!  I’ve been blogging for a few years now and to my surprise some of my links to other book bloggers had not been updated since I first put them up!  Some excellent book blogs are now defunct!  Some blogs were left mid-stride, with no explanation as to why their last post was in late 2015.  Some links were just GONE.  The blogs had vanished…. poof

That led me to wonder…. When a blogger tires of blogging, do they just leave their blog stranded in the WWW limbo?  What is the protocol? Is there a protocol?  Should the blogger remove the blog if they’ve not updated it for over a year?blogroll

I’ve added some book blogs and deleted some.  I hope I have included most of the wonderful bloggers who have been so supportive of this blog, if I’ve forgotten yours, just send me a reminder.  We bloggers must stick together!

In a perfect world, support is reciprocal.  I’d love to be included on YOUR blogroll.

If you don’t have a blogroll, you should create one – but remember, they have to be maintained (as I learned the hard way).

mutual support

mutual support

Apologies to all the great bloggers that I follow who are not included in my blogroll.  I have made the decision to only include ‘book‘ blogs at present.  I have created another blogroll for ‘non-book’ blogs called “Other blogs I support”.

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Book bloggers, Fictionophile report and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Book bloggers, blog rolls, etc.

  1. Thank you so much for including me! ❤

    Like

  2. skyecaitlin says:

    Thanks for including me, Lynne!

    Like

  3. noelleg44 says:

    Thank you for following my blog, Fictionophile! I am honored – stop by any time.
    I know what you mean about missing fellow bloggers – one disappeared but luckily I had her email, so I could check up on her. She’d gotten busy with work, but has since resumed her amazing writing!

    Like

  4. madbooklove says:

    I had a previous blog dedicated to an entirely different subject (infertility journey) that it just didn’t make sense to continue with (the end result of my journey was triplets, so blogging regularly was rather difficult). But I had been an active part of that community for years, had made lots of friends, friends who had seen me through one of the most difficult periods of my life (even if they weren’t IRL friends) and it didn’t seem right to just cut and run after all they’d done for me. So, I posted a final message, explaining I was leaving and why. And I keep the blog up because I think someone else might still benefit from the information and my experiences, as I had from other infertility bloggers who had stopped blogging. It never seemed right to me when people just disappeared with no warning or explanation.

    Like

  5. Diana says:

    I have never had a blogroll. I should have that someday. Great post!

    Like

  6. FictionFan says:

    Thanks for the push – I’ve been meaning to do a bit of updating of my blogroll for ages! It always worries me when people disappear without a trace – I’d rather people posted to say they were giving up, but I guess maybe they don’t intend to give up, just take a break which extends and extends…

    There are a couple of people I followed for ages who simply disappeared, and it still bothers me – it may seem silly, but I worry! There was one person, whom I won’t name, who disappeared so suddenly and completely after years of blogging, I decided she must have died and truthfully went through a grieving process for her. Then she suddenly reappeared months later with no explanation and no apologies to the several people (including me) who had left worried comments on her blog. I’m going to admit I was upset and annoyed, and stopped following her – it would have been so easy for her to take five minutes to set our minds at rest…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I find it sad when a blogger I really enjoy reading just ups and disappears with no warning. It’s traumatic (almost). I need to go through my blog list and check the links as I have been blogging for several years now and know some will be out of date. A good reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks for your comment. Blog housekeeping is not something you think about when you start blogging. Just like in real life, housekeeping is a necessary, though not always enjoyable chore.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I do not see myself listed 🙂 But am not sure if I ever was! I do think that this is a wonderful approach and am very happy to see this updated.

    Like

  9. skyecaitlin says:

    🙂

    Like

  10. You know I’ve never given much thought to this – something tells me that I should schedule some blog housekeeping time! And thank you for including me in your blogroll, it’s much appreciated 🙂

    Like

  11. J.E. Fountain says:

    I’ve encountered the same thing…always makes me a little sad when A Book Blog just goes silent.

    Like

  12. Ana says:

    I think I am missing 🙂
    This is an awesome feature, thank you for putting it up!

    Like

  13. Definitely agree! I try my best to support those that support me but unfortunately time is not always on my side and if I leave my blog unattended for more than a day, things start to escalate quite quickly XD Nevertheless, I always try and give back as soon as I can. I’ve definitely made some good friends along the way too 🙂
    It’s weird how some people just stop blogging without leaving a word of goodbye but I guess I will understand if they do that.

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      I have added your blog on my ‘non-book’ blogroll called “Other blogs I support”. Blogs are hard work and time is limited. I can understand why some bloggers leave their blogs up as the content might still be valid. I do think they should write a short piece saying that as of such and such a date this blog will no longer be maintained – or something to that effect.

      Like

  14. Thanks for including me in your roll of honour, you are also in mine, though I’m not happy with the WordPress system. I think I might ditch the automatic listing which limits numbers and shows most recent thereby excluding the oldest and usually higher rated blogs. Need to set some time aside to get it sorted.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Jill I’m not sure about the ‘automatic listing’ of which you speak. I have added all my blogroll entries manually. Perhaps it is a feature of the theme you are using?

      Liked by 1 person

  15. It’s sad there should be so many abandoned blogs but I guess it just shows the dedication needed to maintain a blog for any length of time. So more credit to those who have been blogging for years.

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      Yes, that’s so true. Blogging is time intensive. I could spend all day at it, (though my husband might get very peeved as he thinks I spend too much time on it already). By the way, I have added your blog to my blogroll.

      Like

      • I’m just beginning to realise how much time is needed to do it properly – and still find enough time to read, which of course is the whole point. Oh, and to pay attention to husbands as well! Thanks for adding me to your blog roll- I’m in illustrious company 🙂

        Like

  16. It does seem weird to just leave the blog up like that. It works as an archive but like you, I’d like a notice of some sort. Maybe they lost their passwords?

    Thank you for including me in your blogroll! I don’t have one. Maybe I should get on that.

    Have a wonderful Sunday! x

    Like

  17. I’m delighted to see I made the list- I suppose abandoned blogs can remain forever after all the book review still stands even if the blogger is no longer writing

    Like

  18. Ramona says:

    I really love your posts and you including me into that list will mean a lot:)
    https://readwithloveblog.wordpress.com/
    Thank you:)

    Like

  19. An interesting thought – a wasteland of discarded blogs. Sounds like something out of a book. Lovely post.

    Like

  20. tiolo12 says:

    Oh yeah,meaning some are ?blocked?

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      No, not blocked. Some bloggers just decided that they didn’t want to blog anymore. So some of them removed their blog (you get an error message when you click on their link), or, some just left their blogs and never updated them again.

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Renee says:

    Thank you for including me on your blogroll! I have a feeling other bloggers just leave their blogs in internet limbo…there’s several I used to follow that are there but just frozen in time:(

    Like

  22. tiolo12 says:

    I could not completely understand, why it happened?

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      The links to other blogs that I had put up on my blogroll were no longer valid. Some blogs were taken down, some were just left up but were inactive for a long time. I removed these links from my blog and added ones that I do follow that remain active and relevant.

      Like

  23. Thank you for including me!!

    Hope you are having an awesome weekend!!

    Like

  24. Jessica's Reading Room says:

    I’d love to be included!

    Like

  25. I like the idea of taking care to edit your previous posts and ensure they are still accurate, links work etc. As for former bloggers, it seems strange to just leave the outdated content in www land, but it may still be nice as an archive

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fictionophile says:

      Yes, I think it is strange too. If they just lost interest in blogging, then I believe they should put up some kind of notice on their site saying so. But, to be fair, perhaps illness or death prevented them from doing so…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

