“And every morning the way home gets longer and longer” by Fredrik Backman

Ever since I read Fredrik Backman’s “A man called Ove“, I have been a fan.  Since then, I’ve read two other novels of his and loved them both.  Now, the author has written a new novella, and of course I was chomping at the bit with anticipation as soon as I heard about it.and-every-morning-the-way-home-gets-longer-and-longer

I knew it was a bad? good? sign when my eyes started to well up just reading the prologue….  It was not written in a ‘sappy’ way, just in a way that you know was heartfelt by the author. Fredrik Backman has such a deep understanding of human nature, and such a unique, articulate and compelling way of sharing his thoughts that I believe he should be required reading for all.  Too much? I think not!

This heart-rending little story showcases the emotional relationship between a father and his grown son, and, a grandfather and his grandson, Noah.  In life nothing lasts forever.  The grandfather is becoming increasingly forgetful which confuses and frightens the little grandson.  Even his favorite joke, which he has told countless times before – he can no longer remember. He carries on conversations with his long dead wife with whom he loved above all else for over half a century.  He misses her immeasurably and remembers that she loved hyacinths…hyacinths

full_thumbnailThe grandfather has always loved everything to do with mathematics.  Noah shares this love, but his son, Ted, has always been a man of words, not numbers.  The grandfather and grandson have a game they play reciting the digits of pi.

Getting old is frightening, but losing your own treasured memories is the worst thing.  Grandpa’s brain is dying before his body is…

Remembering that you’ve forgotten is the worst kind of forgetting

The father and son finally have found a bond in their mutual love of Noah.  A little boy who is wise beyond his years – thanks to the wisdom imparted to him by his Grandpa.

Written with understanding and empathy, this beautiful novella reminds us to cherish the little things in life, because they truly are the big things.single-red-balloon

Every time I read a work by Fredrik Backman, I invariably find myself thinking how lucky his children are to have such an understanding and loving person for a father.

This is a story of the anguish, confusion, and frustration of aging, of regret, but most of all, it is a story about love and letting go.caution-weepF 5 star

My genuine thanks to Atria Books via NetGalley for providing me with this novella in consideration of a review.

Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman, a blogger and columnist, is the New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove, My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry, and Britt-Marie was here. All three were number one bestsellers in his native Sweden and are being published around the world in more than twenty-five languages. He lives in Stockholm, Sweden with his wife and two children.

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in book reviews, Favorite books, Fiction, Literary fiction, NetGalley title, Novellas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “And every morning the way home gets longer and longer” by Fredrik Backman

  1. Marie says:

    You’ve convinced me to read more of his books!

    Like

  2. Susie | Novel Visits says:

    I loved A Man Called Ove, but had less success with Britt-Marie. This little novella, however, sounds really good. Perfect for a Saturday afternoon read!

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      It is interesting that you didn’t care for Britt-Marie. I found her to be quirky – almost like a female Ove. But… you’re correct about Ove. I think that book is one of my all-time favorites!

      Like

  3. skyecaitlin says:

    Lynne, thanks for sharing this treasure: Backman;s book sounds like a piece of beauty.

    Like

  4. I’ve seen this on NetGalley but hadn’t realised it was a novella. I really want to try this author soon as I love how you describe the impact his words have on you.

    Like

  5. carhicks says:

    I also love this author and have read the other books he wrote. I am looking forward to this one when it comes out.

    Like

  6. Christine says:

    Powerful review of what sounds like a powerful story, Lynne. I must try this author.

    Like

  7. madbooklove says:

    I read Ove and it was instant love. Unfortunately, I picked up Britt-Marie next and couldn’t find my groove with it. Set it aside for another time. I’m glad to hear you loved all that you’ve read by him. Maybe I just wasn’t in the right mood when I picked up Britt-Marie. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

