“Field of Graves” by J.T. Ellison

Though this novel is the eighth published by J.T. Ellison for her Taylor Jackson series, it is the first I have read of the series and it is actually a prequel, so is a fitting introduction to all of the series characters.field of graves

It reminded me a lot of the Rizzoli and Isles series by Tess Gerritsen.  A strong female lead protagonist who is a police homicide lieutenant at the tender age of thirty-four, her best friend Sam Owens (Samantha), who just happens to be the medical examiner, and of course her ‘team’ of sharp homicide cops.

Taylor is a likable character, tall, blond, and physically attractive with a husky voice, she is usually strong and is a workaholic.  Just now however, she is recovering from a case in which her ex-lover and policeman was involved in criminal activity and in self-defense she shot him dead.  That is enough for anyone to have panic attacks and nightmares.  Taylor’s strong exterior demeanor hides her vulnerability and her deep empathy for her fellow man.

New to her team is Dr. John Baldwin, another casualty of a case gone wrong.  Formerly working for the FBI as a criminal profiler, Baldwin is even more damaged than Taylor – he is suicidal.

Taylor and her team are tasked with finding a murderer of young women.  The first victim was found prominently displayed and naked upon the steps of Nashville’s Parthenon.  The killer believes himself to be God’s messenger and is striving to set in motion ‘The Apocalypse’.  With bodies piling up in the morgue, the team are desperate to find the killer and they are hindered by a tornado that cuts a swath through downtown Nashville.

Nashville's Parthenon

Nashville’s Parthenon

The plot of this novel was one which I found to be interesting and kept me turning the pages.  The killer was not your usual serial killer and I found the case riveting.  Although I liked the love story element between the two very damaged protagonists, I believe it was just a little too ‘pat’.  Having never read any of the other novels in the series, perhaps readers that have would be more in tune with their relationship.

After some investigation, I found that “Field of Graves” was actually written before the other books in the series but was not published until now.  The title alludes to Taylor’s nightmares and I find it interesting that Tennessee is the real-life home of the ‘body farm‘.

Anyone who enjoys a thriller with a strong police procedural element will love this novel. Also, those who enjoy romantic suspense will appreciate that part of the story.

F 4 star

Thanks to Mira via Edelweiss for providing me with a digital copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

written with stars

J.T. Ellison

J.T. Ellison

New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison writes dark psychological thrillers starring Nashville Homicide Lt. Taylor Jackson and medical examiner Dr. Samantha Owens, and pens the Nicholas Drummond series with #1 New York Times bestselling author Catherine Coulter. Cohost of the premier literary television show, A Word on Words, Ellison lives in Nashville with her husband and twin kittens. Follow J.T. onFacebook or Twitter @thrillerchick for more insight into her wicked imagination.

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Edelweiss, Mystery fiction, Page turners, romantic suspense and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Field of Graves” by J.T. Ellison

  1. Emma says:

    This is an author I have always meant to read but never have. A prequel might be a good place to start.

    Like

  2. skyecaitlin says:

    This sounds so good, and the writer looks familiar to me. I didn’t know Tess Gerritsen wrote Rizzoli and Isles ( a great series). Thanks for the thumbs up.

    Like

  3. I love JT Ellison. I didn’t enjoy this one as much as I do all the others, as I didn’t need the background of characters and it did feel like she had wrote it before. I wonder why it was never released. Dr. Sam Owens series are my favourites, go to those ones if you want to continue.

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      Thanks for the ‘heads up’! Dr. Sam Owens was the least developed character in this one, so I may take your suggestion to get to know her a little more. I heard that it was the publishers decision to not publish “Field of Graves” back when she first wrote it. Her stand-alone novel “No One Knows” is coming up on my TBR.

      Like

  4. novelgossip says:

    I want to read this series! I recently read No One Knows by her and really liked it. Nice review 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

