Cover Love: part 2 – Windows

There is an old English proverb that states “You can’t judge a book by its cover”.cover love 2 windows

I have to disagree.  Perhaps we can’t judge, but we can certainly use covers to choose books.  Anyone who says they don’t is fooling themselves.  That being said, if I really love an author and their new novel has a hideous cover, I will still buy it and read it.   But… for the most part, it is the cover that is for me the first ‘hook‘.

I find myself attracted to certain kinds of covers.  In this, my second installment of ‘Cover Love‘, I’d like to show you the books on my Goodreads lists that feature windows on their covers.
Some I’ve already read, some are on my ‘to read’ list.

Having a window on the cover is a great ‘hook’ for any fiction book. What is fiction but a glimpse through a window into someone else’s life?

Just click on the cover to read the book’s info from Goodreads.

watching edie

i let you go

sleep tight

tainted

missing pieces

larkswood

what she never told me

good mother

iron house

please don't tell

stopped heart

two family house

stone boy

tarnished

deepest secret

no kiss goodbye

what doesnt kill you

burgess boys

just what kind of mother are you

this perfect world

Stay tuned for “Cover Love — Part 3: Gates”

or… revisit the first installment of Cover Love:

#1  In Red Walking Away

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Cover Love series, Dustjackets, Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cover Love: part 2 – Windows

  1. Dorothy Gracie says:

    I admit that I am also a sucker for a good cover–although not as much as my first lines test. When I am attracted by the cover AND the first few lines manage to grab me, watch out!!! I also have a fondness for covers that showcase windows and quite a few of the ones you display in this entry certainly do that well. I’m looking forward to the next installment with gates.

    Like

  2. skyecaitlin says:

    I have often been attracted to book covers, and once upon a long time ago, I couldn’t buy enough beauty/fashion magazines due to their covers; I recall purchasing the very first edition of Elle Magazine ( thank goodness I left that habit behind). I think there is a special allure ( from the magazine title) that makes us long to read a book, as well; these covers are really nicely done.

    Like

  3. Christine says:

    I love these “cover pieces”, Lynne!

    Like

    • Fictionophile says:

      Glad to hear it Christine! I’ve got several more planned. If nothing else it might give some readers a few titles to add to their own TBR!

      Like

Leave a Reply

