Fictionophile’s Favorites of 2015

I’ve read 70 novels in 2015, many of them excellent.  So you can understand my dilemma in choosing only 15 titles as my personal favorites.  I’ve been very lucky to have enjoyed about 90% of my reading this year.  Subsequently there are a lot of ‘honorable mentions’ that didn’t quite make my

Top 15  of 2015 list

1866bestbooks20_00000001109

I’ll list my top 15 titles below – in no particular order.  (See, I’m still prevaricating…)

Just click on the cover to read my review!

  1.  Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton

little black lies

2.  The Shut Eye by Belinda Bauer

shut eye

3. The devotion of suspect X by Keigo Higashino

devotion of suspect X

4.  The love song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachel Joyce

Queenie

5.  Playing with fire by Tess Gerritsen

Playing with fire

6. The Lake House by Kate Morton

Lake house

7. Five Night Stand by Richard J. Alley

five night stand

8.  The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (a.k.a. J.K. Rowling)

Cuckoos Calling

9.  My grandmother asked me to tell you she’s sorry by Fredrik Backman

my-grandmother-asked-me-to-tell-you-shes-sorry

10. A place for us by Harriet Evans

place for us

11.  The skeleton road by Val McDermid

theskeletonroad

12.  The ice twins by S.K. Tremayne

ice-twins

13.  To the edge of shadows by Joanne Graham

to-the-edge-of-shadowsBest novella

14.  Every seven years by Denise Mina

every 7 yearsand

Best debut novel

15.  In a vertigo of silence by Miriam Polli

vertigo of silence

Five other favorites (I just couldn’t NOT mention them):

Dark Corners by Ruth Rendell

Hidden by Karen E. Olson

The child garden by Catriona McPherson

She’s not there by P.J. Parrish

The truth and other lies by Sascha Arango

If you’ve read any of these novels – or plan to – I would love to hear from you!

Just leave a comment on this post!

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Favorite books, Fiction, Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Fictionophile’s Favorites of 2015

  1. Kimmy says:

    Thanks for the great list! I’ve not read any of these, and I’m eager to check them out!

    Like

  2. I just finished Little Black Lies and it was amazing. Now, I have more books to add to my TBR list. Thanks for this wonderful list.

    Like

  3. skyecaitlin says:

    This is a wonderful list of reading!

    Like

  4. Karen C says:

    This is an impressive list of books!! I am happy I came across this on the Whodunit Blog! I have added quite a few of these to my winter TBR pile. My favorite book of 2015 was “Uncontrolled Spin” by Jerry Summers (http://www.jerrysummersauthor.com/ — there is a book excerpt on his website you can check out). This is a crime book that really has it all *sex, politics, suspense, plot twists and turns, and really excellent characters!!* It is the first book in the series and I am so excited for the next one to come out in February. Hope you will check it out!!!

    Like

  5. I understand that Backman wrote a sequel to My Grandmother, called “I Am Brit-Marie” and I can hardly wait for it to be translated into English!

    Like

  6. Diane Coto says:

    I haven’t read any of these, but two have been on my TBR. Hope to get to them in 2016. Playing with fire by Tess Gerritsen and The Lake House by Kate Morton. I also think I’d love to read The skeleton road by Val McDermid.
    @dino0726 from 
    FictionZeal – Impartial, Straightforward Fiction Book Reviews

    Like

  7. SDCB Steph says:

    I loved seeing your list of favorites. I have added a couple of these to my TBR. I enjoyed Cuckoo’s Calling too. I’m a sucker for mysteries anyway, but I really liked the characters more than usual.

    Like

  8. annmar3@verizon.net says:

    Great list. Have read four – Little Black Lies, Lake House, The Cuckoo’s Calling, and Every Seven Years, all favorites. Will add others from your list to my ‘to read’ list. My most significant book of 2015 was, incredibly to me, a non-fiction “The Unravelling, High Hopes and Missed Opportunities in Iraq, by Emma Sky. Favorite author discovered this year was Kent Haruf, loved his Plainsong (not a 2015 publication).

    Like

  9. Perri says:

    Little Black Lies was in my tops list for 2015, also. That’s the only one I’ve read, but I have The Cuckoo’s, Playing with Fire, and The Love Song on my TBR list. Here’s to another great year of reading!

    Like

  10. I have The Ice Twins downloaded and waiting to be read! Your review on this is excellent can’t wait to get started on it 🙂

    Like

  11. FictionFan says:

    Great list! I’ve read a few of these and loved The Shut Eye in particular. Some of the others are still on my TBR for next year…

    Like

  12. Some great choices! I’ve read a few of these although not The Lake House which now looks like it’s going to be the first book I read in 2016!

    Like

Leave a Reply

