Book or eReader… my preferences

Although I have literally thousands of hardcover books at home (books do furnish a room – the quote is correct) – I MUCH prefer reading on my Kindle Paperwhite.

My reasons are thus:

1.  I can read outdoors and in bright sunlight without the pages ruffling in the wind.
2.  I can read in bed in the middle of the night without disturbing my husband with the light or the rustling of pages. (he is a very light sleeper)
3.  I can carry all of my TBR in one light little Kindle so I am NEVER without a book.
4.  I can adjust the font size, keening, page color, etc. to suit the book and my aging eyes.
5.  I can see how much reading time I have left in my book. This is important to me so that I can judge when I will have reviews written.
6.  I can highlight as much as I want without defacing the book or taking the time to write copious notes.
7.  I review books for both NetGalley and Edelweiss and it is SO much easier to download them when you have a Kindle. I just choose the option “Send to Kindle” and HEY PRESTO !!! the title is on my device!

I will always live with hardcover books. For me they both charm and comfort.  They are my friends. I have been known to purchase a book I particularly loved AFTER reading it on my Kindle. Just so I can gaze at it with fond memories…

Yes, I acknowledge that I am addicted to books.
But for reading them… it is Kindle ALL the way.

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Book bloggers, ebooks and ereaders, home libraries, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book or eReader… my preferences

  1. Diane Coto says:

    Hi – I’ve gotten so I’m very comfortable with my kindle also. I love it for all the same reasons you mentioned. But, I still like holding a book too, so appreciate those times I have been sent the book (ARC).
    @dino0726 from 
    FictionZeal – Impartial, Straightforward Fiction Book Reviews

    Like

  2. gkdewolfe says:

    Lynne, for me, it will always be the hard cover book. Of course, in twenty years or so, it might be the trade edition!! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

