“Down by the river” by Lin Stepp

I chose this novel from the offerings of NetGalley because of it’s setting.
A few years ago I met a wonderful family through my daughter.  They live in a rural area near Townsend, Tennessee where this novel is set.  Tennessee, being far from where I live in Nova Scotia, holds a fascination for me – and I would love to visit there one day.

The novel is not at all the type of book I generally favor.  A Christian romance.  The characters were engaging and the Smoky Mountain area setting divine.  However, I found the female protagonist a little ‘too good to be true’ and the ‘bible-belt’ way of  life foreign to what I’m used to.

Grace Conley is a 50ish widow – with grown children and a strong Christian faith – who makes a new life for herself when she leaves her opulent Nashville lifestyle to run a bed-and-breakfast in small-town Townsend.  The people she meets there along with her involvement with Jack Teague, a single father and local lothario make for escapist fiction.  However… despite the fact that Lin Stepp‘s novel followed a formulaic plot line, it was eminently readable.

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in book reviews, Christian fiction, Fiction, Love stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

