Carnegie Medal Winner 2009

Bog Child by Siobhan Dowd
Siobhan Dowd has posthumously won The Carnegie Medal, the most prestigious prize in children’s literature, for her book, Bog Child.
In May last year, Siobhan Dowd was named one of 25 ‘authors of the future’. Sadly, she died of cancer three months late at the age of 47.
From Random House:
“DIGGING FOR PEAT in the mountain with his Uncle Tally, Fergus finds the body of a child, and it looks like she’s been murdered. As Fergus tries to make sense of the mad world around him—his brother on hunger-strike in prison, his growing feelings for Cora, his parents arguing over the Troubles, and him in it up to the neck, blackmailed into acting as courier to God knows what—a little voice comes to him in his dreams, and the mystery of the bog child unfurls.
Bog Child is an astonishing novel exploring the sacrifices made in the name of peace, and the unflinching strength of the human spirit.”

This novel is also the winner of three other awards.
WINNER 2008 – Publishers Weekly Best Children’s Book of the Year
WINNER 2008 – Kirkus Reviews Best Young Adult Books
WINNER 2008 – Amazon Best of the Year


About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Authors, award winners, Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s