The Bellwether Prize

I contribute to another blog through the library where I work. It was on this blog that I first became aware of this relatively new book award. Established in 2000 by novelist Barbara Kingsolver, the Bellwether Prize rewards writers whose novels deal with topics of social responsibility.
It is also somewhat unusual in that it recognizes unpublished manuscripts.
The Bellwether Prize is awarded every two years.
The winner receives $25,000 and a guarantee to be published by a major publisher.

The past winners are:

2000: Kissing the Virgin’s Mouth, by Donna Gershten
2002: The Book of Dead Birds, by Gayle Brandeis
2004: Correcting the Landscape, by Marjorie Kowolski Cole
2006: Mudbound, by Hillary Jorden
2008: The Girl Who Fell from the Sky, by Heidi Durrow


About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in award winners, Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s