“Unspoken” by Sam Hayes

I work as a library cataloguer. In my spare time I review mystery novels for an online magazine.  I belong to a mystery bookclub who meets once a month.  As a person who has a book on the go literally ALL THE TIME, I encounter many quite good ones and many duds.  Once in a while I find a gem.   My favorite genres are suspense/mystery/thriller.  I just finished reading “Unspoken” by Sam Hayes.  Wow! It was one of those books that made you neglect everything you were supposed to be doing.  I couldn’t put it down until the last page was turned.

"Unspoken" by Sam Hayes

“Unspoken” by Sam Hayes

The dustjacket blurb reads:

Mary Marshall would do anything for her daughter Julia. A devoted grandmother to Julia’s children, she’s always been the rock her family can rely on. Until now. Mary has a past Julia knows nothing about, and it’s come back to haunt her – Murray French is walking a tightrope. A solicitor struggling with an alcohol problem, he’s about to lose his wife Julia and his children to another man: someone successful, someone they deserve. Someone who’s everything he’s not. Can he ever get his family back? Just when Julia Marshall thinks life is starting to turn around, she stumbles upon the brutalised body of a girl she teaches. And as the terrible present starts to shed light on her mother’s past, Julia realises her family’s nightmare is only just beginning…

Written with understanding and emotional acuity, the novel is one I’ll remember for quite some time.

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Favorite books, Fiction, Mystery fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

