“So many books, so little time”

A member of my mystery bookclub said, “I read the first line of the book and it just grabbed me.”
Alternately a co-worker of mine usually reads the first paragraph. From this she decides whether or not this is a book for her.
I usually do not read any of the text before choosing a book.
I do however read the back cover and/or the jacket ‘blurb’. That combined with the jacket itself are often instrumental in my choice.
Once I am familiar with an author and know that I like him or her, then I need no further enticement. The author’s name alone will make the choice for me.

“So many books, so little time”
How do you choose your next title?
Is it the first line? the first paragraph? the first page?

About Fictionophile

Fiction reviewer ; Goodreads librarian. Retired library cataloger - more time to read! Loves books, gardening, and red wine. I have been a reviewer member of NetGalley since October 2013. I review titles offered by Edelweiss, and participate in blog tours with TLC Book Tours.
This entry was posted in Choosing what to read next, Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

